Skip to content

Step to the Left, Step to the Right

September 3, 2009

sexism

Just before lunch, students broke into small groups after a large group session exploring sexism. During small groups, students stood in a line at the center of the room with their eyes closed as MPCs read out statements such as

I am afraid to walk alone at night.
I more often ask others out than am asked out.
I speak over other people when they talk.

After each statement, students were told to step either to the left or the right. When the activity was completed, students opened their eyes and were asked to note where their peers stood. In my group, women stood to the right of the room and many of the men were at center-left. Students then discussed their reactions to the activity.

When students regrouped in Andrews Dining Hall, the facilitators for the sexism workshop told them to fill out cards about what they needed after their discussion on sexism:

I need to not be judged.
I need people to be as they are.
I need girls to stop hiding.
I need boys to start crying.

We all impact one another, and although me may not acknowledge it, we all need each other to move forward as a society. On day two of TWTP, the class of 2013 is learning how it will move forward into its first year of Brown.

“I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoke, and made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.”
– Audre Lorde

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

